Angelic Inspiration

So apparently the VS show happened a week or so ago. Of course, now that I’m in Siberia, I tend to forget about all the panty hype since I’m covered in 10 layers of clothing. Still, there was much to be inspired by (fitness wise) from the ladies, or at least judging by some of the pics I saw. I do have to say that some of the new girls look way too thin, not exactly my ideal. Of course it’s not fair to say that they are unhealthy; you could be really skinny and not have an eating disorder (this I know firsthand), but why some of them were chosen to do a lingerie show is not something I understand. The angels, though, looked great as always. 

Some highlights:

Miranda Kerr - Victoria's Secret Fashion Show 2012

Miranda Kerr. She’s my fave VS model. Looking this good after having a kid? WOW.

Doutzen Kroes looks amazing.

Those are some ridiculous legs–and wings!!

So here are some tips from the supermodels:

Miranda Kerr (taken from an article here: http://www.womenshealthandfitness.com.au/fitness/workouts/179-supermodel-shape-

 

The Miranda Kerr workout

The rules

Exercise 3 to 4 times a week for 1 hour and 15 minutes each time.

Warm up with 5 to 10 minutes of stretching.

Target all aspects of your body: 30 minutes on your legs, 30 minutes on core, arms and balance and 15 minutes of stretching.

Running is essential

“I make sure all my models run; whether they’re lean, fit and skinny or overweight as the cardiovascular system helps them stay lean and fit,” says Gelbrand.

Kerr runs between two and three miles (three and five km), once or twice a week. “Miranda and I then go to a running track and run for one-and-a-half miles (about two-and-a-half km). At the end, we walk it out, then we take a one minute rest and run back.”

Mix things up
Most supermodels are concerned about their butt, hips and thighs, Gelbrand reveals. “I have devised a circuit class that is based on all the different body parts. I also like to shake it up and do different things every workout, which is why the models like me as well: They never know what they’ll be doing.”

Work on your legs
Kerr does leg extensions, leg presses and calf raises. “She’ll do 20 leg kicks each side, and then balance on one foot holding a ball or weight for 30 seconds. She’ll do three sets on each leg,” says Gelbrand.

Work your butt

“Lay on the ground on your back, put your legs up on a stability ball, lift your hips up and down; do three sets of 15 reps. If you want to make it harder, lift from your hips and lift your right leg up, and put your leg back down. “Lying flat on the floor, come up on your hips with one leg bent. Take your right or left leg and push up from your heels toward the ceiling. Do a set of 15 reps.”

Boost your breasts
“Using three-pound weights; start from the hip and squeeze it to the chest. I also put the girls on the decline bench and give them a stability bar. They do two sets of 15 reps.”

The Supermodel diet

Gelbrand doesn’t have a specific diet plan, but his advice to his clients is to follow a balanced diet.

“The best thing is to combine food, nutrition and exercise together. Because a lot of models don’t eat – and live on sugar – I advise them to look at how they consume sugar, differently,” he explains.

“I don’t mind if they get the sugars from fruits like strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, boysenberries and pomegranate juice because they all contain antioxidants. Eating more fruits, and incorporating more exercise into their routines doesn’t make them feel a necessity to live on sweets.”

Gelbrand lets his clients eat the right types of sugar, but he forbids salt. “When my clients go to restaurants, I advise them to stick to the boiled, steamed and grilled dishes; like fish, salads and vegetables,” he adds.

 

What to eat

Breakfast: “I encourage them to go to the supermarket and buy old-fashioned oatmeal for breakfast, egg whites, vegetables, cottage cheese and fruit, granola and yoghurt. Everyone needs to eat a good breakfast with carbohydrate. Especially models, as they are often at all-day castings.”

LUNCH: “For lunch, salad with chicken and fish and a side of fruit, is the best.”

DINNER: “When it is dinner time, you can’t look past sashimi with brown rice, but you need to stay away from soy. Chicken, fish, turkey and vegetables are also great items to consider.”

DESSERT: “iI’s everyone’s indulgence. Believe it or not, I advise my clients to eat a little bit of dark chocolate or ice-cream twice a week, to ensure they don’t splurge and start living with these indulgences everyday.

“You should eat medium portion sizes and eat so you’re semi-full, but not totally full. I advise my clients to monitor their caloric intake.

“If exercising, the count should regularly to be between 1300-1500 calories, but due to some model’s metabolisms, some can consume up to 1600.”

It’s no surprise Miranda Kerr’s slender and toned look is the fruitful result of long hours at the gym and a very careful diet – a challenge in itself for someone who travels the globe – criss-crossing from catwalk-to-catwalk – and works on an obscure time clock.

According to Gelbrand, when he first began working in modeling, it was all about “smoking, drinking coffee, taking drugs, not eating and eating sugar” – all just to look as thin as possible. “The past few years have also seen an epidemic in anorexia and bulimia, so I really wanted to change all of that through being fit and healthy,” he adds, with a glint of anger.

 

The Doutzen Plan (taken from here-

http://www.fashionologie.com/Doutzen-Kroes-Supermodel-Diet-Secrets-23430647

Supermodel Doetzen Kroes is known for her amazing figure, but the Victoria’s Secret Angel admits to having a major weakness when it comes to a certain food. “French fries,” Kroes told us at last night’s CFDA Awards. “I really like the ones at Shake Shack. That’s the thing with french fries, and potato chips too. You have one, and you can’t stop. But I always try not to eat the whole bucket that they give you, because I think that’s the trick. Everything in moderation; you can’t force yourself to eat none of the good stuff. I wouldn’t be a happy person if I only ate salads. I love salads — but salads with fries.”

So how does the 27-year-old Dutch stunner stay in such great shape? Well, being a mother certainly seems to help. “I have a son so I’m always running after him,” Kroes explained. “He’s started walking and so that’s lots of work. And my priority is really towards him, so I cook for him and then I just munch a little bit and I don’t sit down to eat until later.”

Of course, the supermodel also admits to a very strenuous exercise routine: “I box, I jump rope, and I do lots of leg work, you know, to keep the butt up. So, it’s lots of things. I have an amazing trainer and I’m really fortunate to have that, you know? But it’s also my job. You can’t compare my life to somebody who goes to work everyday; I have to look this way.”

A look back at some of Kroes’s most recent red-carpet looks — including her breathtaking Sophie Theallet look from last night’s CFDA Awards — in the slideshow.

 

Lindsay’s Secrets (taken from article here

http://www.examiner.com/article/victoria-s-secret-model-lindsay-ellingson-gets-bikini-ready-with-dancing

Victoria’s Secret model Lindsay Ellingson may be the newest of the Angels bunch but her sizzle factor is anything but rookie.

To keep her body bikini-ready the 23-year-old Angel uses dancing to stay in fit.

“I studied jazz and ballet for 10 years,” she says. “But now I’m having more fun with it and doing lots of hip-hop and modern jazz.”

Adding, “My body is my instrument when I’m dancing. Just like a painter uses his paint brush. So I can stretch and bend and turn and leap and do all these things with my body, which is really fun!”

Ellingson was part of Victoria’s Secret’s “new class” joining the crew in August of 2009 along with model Emanuela de Paula.

Ellingson, reaching 5-foot-11 in height, has done work with Chanel, Dolce & Gabbana and Valentino and has been working the runway since 2005.

“I love my body because it’s really my creative outlet,” she says in the new Victoria’s Secret Body by Victoriapromo ads. “It lets me express myself in totally unique ways. I don’t even have to say a word. My body speaks for me,” she says.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

